The Home of Atilla

“Politics should be the part-time profession of every citizen who would protect the rights and privileges of free people and who would preserve what is good and fruitful in our national heritage.” Dwight D. Eisenhower

Iron Maiden Concert Sydney Australia 2008

Posted by Atilla89 on February 10, 2008

I have just been to what possibly is the greatest live show on earth, a night with Iron Maiden. After the concert finished I was left speechless. Truly it would be very hard to describe just how great this show was. After listening to two crap opening acts, Maiden finally came on at 9:30pm. The roar of the crowd at that point was amazing, it was just so loud, definitely the loudest I’ve ever heard. Even before the concert had started while everyone was lining up to get in, people would break into the chorus of ‘Maiden!’, ‘Maiden!’, ‘Maiden!’ I was in the silver standing area, and I managed to get the best spot in that area, front and center which was absolutely fucking amazing. Because of this, I have some alright photos which will be shown below.

As for the band themselves, well, they definitely have not lost any of their original talent. This was not like going to a Led Zeppelin reunion tour or some old band who should have stopped playing a long time ago, this was a band that had energy, that were funny on stage and most of all could keep the show and the crowd going well into the night. The show had flames, Dickinson went into his usual trooper outfit with the British flag by the time the trooper started playing. Eddie was there fighting the guitarists and Dickinson just for laughs put on a Eddie face mask the wrong way round and started dancing. To say it was a great night would be an understatement. The band played all the great songs from that period and then started playing their greatest songs after that. I must tell you now, that my favourite song of all time since I first heard Iron Maiden (it was the first song I listened to) was Fear of the Dark. My dream for this concert was to hear that live and I did. That song for me was the highpoint of that concert. I don’t remember the exact order that the songs were played in, but I do remember most of them. As usual if you can remember any that I have missed out, add them in the comment section, thanks 🙂 One more thing, here’s a link to another reviewer who focused more on the set and the band so check that out here if you feel so inclined.

Set List:

  1. Winston Churchill’s speech (“We will fight them on the beaches…”)
  2. Aces High
  3. 2 Minutes to Midnight
  4. Revelations
  5. The Trooper
  6. Wasted Years
  7. The Number of the Beast
  8. Rime of the Ancient Mariner
  9. Powerslave
  10. Heaven Can Wait
  11. Can I Play With Madness?
  12. Run To The Hills
  13. Fear of the Dark
  14. The Clairvoyant
  15. Hallowed By Thy Name
  16. Moonchild
  17. Iron Maiden

pict0031.jpg

Outside Acer Arena

pict0044.jpg

Iron Maiden playing their hearts out

pict0058.jpg

Iron Maiden still playing (notice the Somewhere in Time backdrop) this time with Eddie dancing

pict0065.jpg

At the end of the show

15 Responses to “Iron Maiden Concert Sydney Australia 2008”

  1. Nick said

    Hi,
    I was at last night’s killer show also, however was unable to take a camera as mine has been playing up. Upon seeing your pics & review (kudos for both, btw) I have linked to you from my own review site. Let me know if you would like the link removed.
    Up the Irons!
    -Nick-

  2. Nick said

    Thanx 4 the return link. 🙂

  3. Scouse said

    Hi,
    I work at the SIT and the Iron Maiden plane is parked there, I bought a camera and took some pictures, but I was not allowed inside.
    Good on you Atilla for getting a great spot to see the show.

  4. fercho dickson said

    how many people attendend the concert there?
    We are waiting for their arrival to colombia at 208 febreuary… can you confirm the songs that they played there… just yo be ready??

  5. Atilla89 said

    My guess is that there were about 40,000 and yes I can definitely confirm that set list. If you are going and are not familiar with some of the songs, listen to them because they are good.

  6. Salma said

    Oh the IRON MAIDEN concert at Sydney was awesome.It was a dream come true for me. The way u have described the concert is perfect. MAIDEN is the best n i love them even more now after their live performance.Fear of the Dark was definitely the most sought after by me coz its my favourite too. The crowd was great. What a mind blowing show it was!! MAIDEN MAIDEN MAIDEN!

  7. DevilsDance said

    OMG dude, just OMG, how good were they! My ears are still ringing! 😛

  8. Carlos said

    We are waiting for them in Costa Rica next Feb 26… Up the Irons!!!

  9. Hallowed be my name! :) said

    I saw the sunday show and I have to say it was the greatest thing I have ever seen, everything was so bloody amazing, it is impossible to put how awesome it was into words, you just had to be there to really know how great it was, and by the way you forgot to mention Janick’s awesome guitar work, how he threw his guitar 10 ft in the air and caught it and continued playing, and then pretended to throw it in the audience etc etc… Fear of the dark was great yes BUT not only my favourite Maiden song but my favourite song ever is Hallowed be Thy Name which was great because they played it last, for me that was the best part of the concert and a terrific ending to the best night of my life.

    UP THE IRONS!!!

    p.s great photos

    p.p.s Let’s all hope Bruce was telling the truth when he said they’d be seeing us again ‘very soon’ 🙂

    UP THE IRONS!!!

  10. Jim said

    In Sydney when catching the train from Central Station to the arena someone was nice enough to pipe Number of the Beast through the train station’s PA system 🙂 Pretty cool.

  11. carlos marin said

    i am from costa rica and i would like to say that maiden rocksssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss

  12. steve said

    excellent review up the irons roll on twickenham july o8

  13. Mark said

    40,000 people would be a bit crowded in Acer Arena 🙂
    There were probably around 13,000 (sold out) on Saturday and 10,000+ on Sunday (different configuration – some sections closed off).

    Both gigs were excellent, but especially Saturday. The whole vibe and the positive banter from Bruce just added to the experience. Plus Bruce saying they’ll be back soon was exactly what we all wanted to hear. \m/ \m/

  14. Roberto said

    I’m just waiting for Monterrey concert at february 22… o my God to see alive this show for my first time…. all my life waiting for this moment… I can say that after that I can Die jeje

  15. tim said

    Went with the wife on Saturday night. The only time she’s heard them was me playing the CD’s leading up to the concert. In her words…they were fantastic.
    Got free tickets to a corporate box on Sunday with a work mate. So for me it was double the enjoyment.
    Last time I saw them was in ’92 when they played at the Horden to a possible crowd of 1000. This time according to the staff I spoke to at Acer, 16000 the first night and about 12000 the 2nd.

Leave a Reply

 
